Narcissus grub eating daffodil bulb. Garden pest identification

 

Narcissus grub larva. 10mm long

Narcissus grub larva. 10mm long

Narcissus grub eating daffodil

Narcissus grub eating daffodil

If you’re digging the garden or planting bulbs, it’s worth checking on your daffodil bulbs for the Narcissus grubs.

Narcissus grub eating a daffodil bulb

Narcissus grub eating a daffodil bulb

These pests eat the inside of your daffodil bulbs.

Discard the bulb as they probably won’t recover.

Narcissus bulbs. healthy and narcissus grub infected

Narcissus bulbs. healthy and narcissus grub infected

It is easy to see which bulbs are healthy and which ones are infected. At the base of an infected bulb will be black and unhealthy looking

6 Responses to Narcissus grub eating daffodil bulb. Garden pest identification

  1. naturehills says:

    Great post! The pictures help us identify what we are dealing with when we encounter such pests. As well as what a decimated bulb looks like and the advice of not to plant it.

  2. Emily says:

    Eeew! Now I know what they are. But where did they come from?!? I guess it’s no matter… maybe it would be good to note that when you squeeze an infected bulb in the middle, soft brown decayed bulb matter will squeeze out from a hole in near the base, often bringing the grub out with it! I don’t know if this is a way to save the bulb or not. I just burn all the infected bulbs and pray the others aren’t in a beginning stage of infestation.

  3. Angela Rollings says:

    First time I came across these little pests last week when I dug up a flower bed to transplant my bulbs. Out of about 300 bulbs I had 12 infected. Didn’t have a clue what they were…now I know. Just threw all the infected bulbs in with green waste…maybe I should have burnt them. Keep my fingers crossed the rest of the bulbs are ok.

  4. Camille Evans says:

    Found this very interesting as I had a lot of Lily bulbs ready to transplant that just disappear and found these grubs in the pot where the bulbs should have been. What can I do to prevent this happening when I get more bulbs? Will the grubs just come back? Very upset as I named my daughter Lily and grew them for her (she has just turned one) hoping to get this right and any advice muchly appreciated!

  5. Melanie says:

    im very new to gradning and had some daffodills already planted at our new home….i dug some up oday &seen alot of white grubs YURK!!! but what really got to me way a black cone shaped thing that looked like a immature pine cone….i showed it to the familly and they all agreed it was a wierd looking pine cone ,my nefew dicied to cut in it half and yellow pus squirted out YURK!!!!!!!!! …..Can some body tell me what it is ?
    Thanks !

  6. J. Denys Bourque says:

    Thanks for the id.

Leave a Reply

